The Journal created the Barbara Nachtrieb Armstrong Award for Outstanding Advocacy on Behalf of Social Justice for Women in 1985 when theJournal was founded. Barbara Nachtrieb Armstrong was the only woman in the Boalt Hall Class of 1915. She became the Morrison Professor of Municipal Law, Emeritus, and was the first tenured woman law professor in the United States. She was instrumental in drafting state and federal social security acts and also published a monumental text on family law and community property.

The Armstrong Award is a national award open to all people—including scholars, community workers, legal practitioners, and activists—who demonstrate outstanding advocacy on behalf of social justice for women and underrepresented genders. The recipient is chosen by the membership of the Journal.

The recipient of this year’s Armstrong Award is Anne Tamar-Mattis. Ms. Tamar-Mattis, a Berkeley Law alumna and former Journal member, currently teaches Sexual Orientation & the Law at Berkeley Law and is the Founder & Executive Director of Advocates for Informed Choice—the nation’s first and only organization that provides legal advocacy on behalf of children with intersex conditions or differences of sex development. Advocates for Informed Choice builds upon the peer support and political advocacy work already taking place within the intersex community by providing patient advocates and members of the media with the resources they need to support children born with intersex conditions and by stimulating legal dialogue about the civil and human rights of intersex children. Ms. Tamar-Mattis is also deeply involved in the LGBT rights movement: among her many endeavors, she has served as the director of the San Francisco LGBT Community Center, an intern with the National Center for Lesbian Rights and the East Bay Community Law Center’s HIV Law Clinic, and the director of a peer-support hotline for LGBT youth.

The Journal is very proud of Anne Tamar-Mattis and is honored to present her with the Barbara Nachtrieb Armstrong Award for her ongoing advocacy on behalf of LGBT and intersex communities.